Category Archives: News

Messages about common news about Formula 1.

F1 calendar confirmed for 2011

Brazil will host the season finale next year, the World Motor Sport Council has confirmed today after publishing the calendar for the 2011 FIA Formula One World Championship, which includes one extra race.

The calendar for the 2011 FIA Formula One World Championship is as follows:

13/03 Bahrain
27/03 Australia
10/04 Malaysia
17/04 China
08/05 Turkey
22/05 Spain
29/05 Monaco
12/06 Canada
26/06 Europe
10/07 Great Britain
24/07 Germany
31/07 Hungary
28/08 Belgium
11/09 Italy
25/09 Singapore
09/10 Japan
16/10 Korea
30/10 India*
13/11 Abu Dhabi
27/11 Brazil

* Subject to the homologation of the circuit

Austin reveals American Grand Prix track layout

Full Throttle Productions, race promoters for the American Grand Prix which will return to the calendar in 2012, have revealed the layout of the brand-new Austin, Texas circuit designed by German Hermann Tilke.

Elevation Map of the Austin Circuit

With Tilke being the favoured circuit architect of Formula 1 commercial rights holder Bernie Ecclestone and with the United States yet to host a Grand Prix since Indianapolis last did so in 2007, the upcoming race in Austin is expected to be staged around the month of June although the issuing of the 2012 calendar remains over a year away.

The anti-clockwise circuit, which features a selection of elevation changes, will contain a steep uphill climb leading to a left-handed hairpin as its first corner before plunging into a selection of curves which will require rapid changes of direction.

Draft Track Layout of the Austin Circuit

Another left-handed hairpin then loops the track back towards the pits, with a long back straight with a downhill gradient being followed by a Hockenheim stadium-like section plus a multiple-apexed, Istanbul Turn 8-esque corner before two more 90-degree left-handers – separated by a short straight – lead competitors back towards the start/finish area.

Pirelli tyres, adjustable rear wings among 2011 changes

The FIA’s World Motor Sport Council has agreed a number of significant changes to the Formula One regulations. Among them are a new single tyre supplier, aerodynamic revisions designed to boost overtaking, a ban on F-ducts, and the return of a 107% qualifying rule.

Pirelli will take over as the sport’s sole tyre supplier from 2011, following Bridgestone’s decision to withdraw at the end of this season. The Italian company will provide all teams with rubber for the next three years, in compliance with existing F1 sporting and technical regulations.

Pirelli Tyres

Under new moveable bodywork regulations for next season, drivers will be able to adjust the rear wing from the cockpit as soon as they are two laps into the race. However, the system’s availability will be electronically controlled and it will only be activated when a driver is less than one second behind another at pre-determined points on the track. The system will then be deactivated once the driver brakes. It will be available at all times throughout practice and qualifying.


Texas signs 10-year deal for US Grand Prix

The American Grand Prix will be returning to the calendar in 2012 as Austin, Texas hosts what is set to be the country’s first race since 2007. The confirmation comes following much speculation regarding a Grand Prix in the country, with races in New York and its surrounding area having been the main topics.

After plans for a New Jersey street circuit were scrapped just a day after they were revealed, the Upper State New York Monticello circuit put forward a proposal last week although it has now been confirmed that a deal has been signed between Texas and sporting commercial rights holder Formula One Management (FOM).

The contract for Austin – nicknamed ’Silicon Hills’ due to being one of the most prominent regions in the USA for the technology industry – to serve as host city to the event will begin in 2012 and run through to 2021, with the race taking place at a purpose-built venue.

"We are extremely honoured and proud to reach an agreement with the F1 commercial rights holder," said Tavo Hellmund, Managing Partner of race promoter Full Throttle Productions, after confirming the deal with FOM head Bernie Ecclestone.


Silverstone launches Arena Circuit

Silverstone has officially unveiled the brand-new circuit configuration which will play host to this year’s British Grand Prix. The Arena layout, which will involve competitors navigating a new loop between Abbey and Brooklands, will also be used for this year’s MotoGP race, which moves from Donington Park.

With the new section of track having been designed specifically for motorcycle racing, circuit owner the British Racing Drivers’ Club (BRDC) also elected to race Formula 1 on the new section, which will involve the lap time being increased and lap amounts therefore being decreased.

As well as the modified track, the Northamptonshire venue has also constructed a brand-new grandstand on the start/finish straight, overlooking a new run-off area suitable for MotoGP, and raised banking and seating areas at the Maggots/Becketts complex.


Silverstone Arena Circuit

Silverstone Arena Circuit

Silverstone Arena Circuit

Silverstone Arena Circuit

Briatore and Symonds allowed to return in 2013

Former Renault F1 team chiefs Flavio Briatore and Pat Symonds have apologised to motorsport governing body the FIA for their roles in the Singapore 2008 race-fixing scandal, the Paris-based federation has revealed, as it also confirms that peace has now been established amongst the parties in the name of the sport.

With ’Crashgate’ having been associated to the first F1 night race but made public on the run-up to last year’s event in Marina Bay, the scandal rocked the motorsport world and will forever be remembered as one of the worst examples of cheating in sporting history.

The situation involved a pre-determined plot which would result in Renault driver Nelson Piquet Jr. crashing his car on purpose in order to rush the deployment of the Safety Car and therefore aid team-mate Fernando Alonso’s run to victory.

A Monday statement from the FIA, now headed by Jean Todt as opposed to Max Mosley, reveals that the governing body will review how such incidents are dealt with at the next General Assembly meeting, which is scheduled for the end of this year, in order to ’prevent other misunderstandings’.


Final 2010 Fia entry list

Following the recent debacle surrounding the US F1 team, Formula 1 governing body the FIA has finally released the last version of the 2010 entry list. As reported this week, Campos Meta has been renamed Hispania Racing Team as Sauber inherit the car numbers of US F1.

The 2010 entry list is as follows:

Vodafone McLaren Mercedes
1 – Jenson Button
2 – Lewis Hamilton

Mercedes GP Petronas Formula One Team
3 – Michael Schumacher
4 – Nico Rosberg

Red Bull Racing
5 – Sebastian Vettel
6 – Mark Webber

Scuderia Ferrari Marlboro
7 – Felipe Massa
8 – Fernando Alonso

AT&T Williams
9 – Rubens Barrichello
10 – Nico Hülkenberg

Renault F1 Team
11 – Robert Kubica
12 – Vitaly Petrov

Force India F1 Team
14 – Adrian Sutil
15 – Vitantonio Liuzzi

Scuderia Toro Rosso
16 – Sébastien Buemi
17 – Jaime Alguersuari

Lotus Racing
18 – Jarno Trulli
19 – Heikki Kovalainen

HRT F1 Team
20 – Karun Chandhok
21 – Bruno Senna

BMW Sauber F1 Team
22 – Pedro de la Rosa
23 – Kamui Kobayashi

Virgin Racing
24 – Timo Glock
25 – Lucas di Grassi

Update 5th March 2010
Karun Chandhok added to HRT F1 Team.