Tag Archives: Points

Wallpapers Bahrain Grand Prix of 2018


New points system confirmed for 2010

Formula 1 governing body the FIA has confirmed that the new top ten scoring system will be in place from the 2010 season onwards. The scheme, which will award Grand Prix winners 25 points, also includes an increased margin of five points between first and second positions.

With the latest scoring system in Formula 1 having been introduced in 2003, handing out points for seventh and eighth positions in order to allow smaller teams a chance of scoring, the latest change comes as the grid increases in size from 20 to 26 cars prior to the 2010 championship.

The scheme was suggested by the FIA Commission, a group consisting of key stakeholders from F1 teams, promoters, suppliers and sponsors. ‘Due to the expanded grid of 13 teams, and further to the recommendation of the F1 Commission, a new points system will be in place for the 2010 season,’ a statement reads following an FIA World Motor Sport Council (WMSC) meeting on Friday.

The 2010 points system is as follows:

1st 25
2nd 20
3rd 15
4th 10
5th 8
6th 6
7th 5
8th 3
9th 2
10th 1